ISC2 CC: who it helps, the new exam and what it costs now the free exam is gone
ISC2's free Certified in Cybersecurity (CC) program has closed to new enrollments, so in November 2026 the exam costs $199 in the US. A first attempt costs from $199 to $3,145 depending on the training you buy. CC is an entry-level security certification for career starters and people moving into security from IT. We would allow 3 to 6 weeks of study. If you want the official course, ISC2's self-paced course with the exam costs $454.
Key facts
- The CC exam costs $199 in the US, and ISC2's free-exam program has closed to new enrollments. (ISC2, checked November 5, 2026)
- A new outline took effect September 1, 2026: the adaptive exam has 100 to 125 items in two hours, with a pass mark of 700 out of 1,000. (ISC2, checked November 5, 2026)
- No work experience is required, and certified members pay a $50 annual maintenance fee. (ISC2, checked November 5, 2026)
CC or Security+?
ISC2 says CC proves the foundational knowledge, skills and abilities for an entry- or junior-level cybersecurity role, and it names IT professionals, career changers and college students or recent graduates as its audience. It requires no work experience, so it shows you know the basics rather than that you have done security work.
Both are entry points into security, from different issuers: CC comes from ISC2 and Security+ from CompTIA. CC costs less than CompTIA Security+ and needs no experience.
A good fit if
- You are a student, recent graduate or career changer and want a first security credential
- You work in IT or support and want a security baseline before a harder exam
- You want a low-cost test of your interest in security before paying for more
Think twice if
- The job ads you want name CompTIA Security+
- You already work in security and want a credential that reflects that experience
- You are counting on the free exam program: it closed to new enrollments on May 20, 2026
Consider instead: CompTIA Security+ if job ads name it; CySA+ or CISSP if you already work in security; A+ if you are new to IT altogether.
The free CC program has ended
ISC2's One Million Certified in Cybersecurity program, which offered free training and a free exam, stopped taking new enrollments on May 20, 2026. Codes already issued must be used by December 31, 2026, and ISC2 says no new free exam seats will be issued. Many older guides still describe CC as free; for new candidates it now costs at least $199.
The new outline and format
A new exam outline took effect September 1, 2026. The adaptive exam has 100 to 125 items in two hours, and you need 700 out of 1,000. ISC2 weights five areas:
| Area | Weight |
|---|---|
| Security principles | 24% |
| Security governance | 17.3% |
| Identity and access management concepts | 20% |
| Network and cloud security | 21.3% |
| Security operations and incident response | 17.3% |
Ways to prepare for CC
CC is an entry-level exam, so free study material and the $199 exam are enough for most career starters. ISC2's official self-paced training comes with 90 or 180 days of access from the date of purchase and a set order to work through, and its online instructor-led class or Learning Tree's three-day virtual class adds a live instructor. Whatever you use, check it was written for the outline that took effect September 1, 2026.
Costs compared
| Route | Provider and course | Published price | Exam fee | First attempt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Exam only | ISC2, CC exam registration; prepare with your own material. Checked November 5, 2026. | $0 | + $199 exam | $199 |
| Exam with a second try | ISC2, CC exam with Peace of Mind: a second attempt if needed, with both attempts taken within 180 days of purchase. Checked November 5, 2026. | $299 | Included | $299 |
| Official self-paced course with exam | ISC2, CC self-paced training (90 days) plus the exam. Checked November 5, 2026. | $454 | Included | $454 |
| Official online class | ISC2, CC online instructor-led training; exam not stated as included. Checked November 5, 2026. | $1,200 | + $199 exam | $1,399 |
| Live class, 3 days | Learning Tree, ISC2 Certified in Cybersecurity, virtual instructor-led, with the exam voucher and a retake. Checked November 5, 2026. | $3,145 | Included | $3,145 |
ISC2's self-paced course costs $255 on its own ($230 if you are already registered as a candidate, $204 for members), so at the regular price the $454 bundle costs the same as buying the course and the exam separately; registered candidates paying $230 for the course come out $25 ahead by buying separately.
What to confirm before buying CC training
- Which outline it covers. The current outline took effect September 1, 2026, with five weighted areas; older material describes the previous one.
- Whether the exam is included. ISC2's self-paced bundle and Learning Tree's class include it; ISC2's online instructor-led class does not state that it does.
- Whether a second attempt is covered. Learning Tree includes a retake, and ISC2's Peace of Mind option adds a second attempt, with both attempts taken within 180 days of purchase.
- How long access lasts. ISC2 sells its self-paced training with 90-day or 180-day access, both counted from the date of purchase; the $454 bundle in the table is the 90-day option.
Keeping CC
After passing, you pay ISC2 a $50 annual maintenance fee. You also earn 45 continuing professional education (CPE) credits over each three-year cycle, all of them Group A (activities tied to the CC domains); ISC2 suggests about 15 a year but sets no annual minimum. When both are met, ISC2 renews CC automatically for another three years.
Using CC for new IT hires
CC is an inexpensive way to give new IT or support hires a security baseline. For a group, ISC2's self-paced bundle at $454 per person is its lowest-cost official training option; ISC2 also has a team-training page for group pricing.
Short answers
- Is ISC2 CC still free?
- No. The free program closed to new enrollments on May 20, 2026; the exam now costs $199.
- How long is the CC exam?
- Two hours, with 100 to 125 adaptive items.
- Do I need experience for ISC2 CC?
- No work experience is required.
- What does CC cost each year?
- A $50 annual maintenance fee after you pass, plus 45 Group A CPE credits over each three-year cycle (about 15 a year).
Next step
Ask for help choosing ISC2 CC training
Sources
- ISC2: Certified in Cybersecurity (exam and training prices, prerequisites, intended audience), checked November 5, 2026
- ISC2: CC exam outline (effective September 1, 2026; format, weights), checked November 5, 2026
- ISC2: One Million Certified in Cybersecurity (program closed; annual fee), checked November 5, 2026
- ISC2: CC online self-paced training (90-day and 180-day access), checked November 5, 2026
- ISC2: certification maintenance handbook (CC: 45 Group A CPE credits per three-year cycle, $50 AMF), checked November 5, 2026
Prices are published list prices we recorded on the dates shown, not quotes. How we research.